Staff Students Gallery Alumni

Subjects: English

Updated: Thu 27 Sep 2018   Share: Share on facebookShare on TwitterShare on MySpaceShare by Email

English at Bulmershe is a very exciting and intellectually challenging subject where our students are actively involved in their own learning and encouraged to work with increasing independence as well as collaboratively. We offer a wide and diverse curriculum; for example, choral readings of ballads, performances of the 32-second Macbeth, shadowing the Carnegie, writing our own dystopia. As well as enjoying literature from our literary heritage, our students begin to appreciate literature from other cultures and traditions and understand the importance of English for life. They are encouraged to talk, read and write as experts from developing informed opinions and reasonable argument to remembering the emphasis we can create through the dash – or the rat lurking in separate!

We expect the very best from each of our students from Key Stage 3 to GCSE where they follow the Edexcel programme of study in both English Language and  English Literature, and of course, at GCE. Their learning is underpinned by reading between the lines, interpreting both word and image, writing with increasing clarity, coherence and cohesion and speaking with increasing fluency and flair. As well as achieving excellent results at GCSE, we are a very popular choice at A Level where our students enjoy continued success in studying either English Literature, or English Language and Literature.

We have our own suite of rooms in the E block which is colourfully decorated with student work and records of their successes in school and in local and national competitions. Teaching and learning are supported with excellent resources, including ICT, which are easily accessed. We are also very proud to have our own reading area.

Teaching Team

Mrs A E Dench, Head of Department agroves@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Miss N Webb, Assistant Subject Leader of English nwebb@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Miss D Churchill, Teacher of English dchurchill@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Miss A Davies, Joint ITT Co-Ordinator/ English Teacher adavies@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs T Edwards, Assistant Head (Acting)/ Head of Year 9/ English Teacher tedwards@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mr J Fritz, Teacher of English jfritz@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Miss K Lawless, Teacher of English and Media Studies klawless@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mr C Mooney, Assistant Head of Faculty of Performing & Community Arts/ English Teacher cmooney@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs G Norris, Teacher of English gnorris@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mr A Whearity, Head of Year 8 and Teacher of English, Drama and Media Studies awhearity@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs M Wray, Teacher of English and Drama mwray@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs M Cousins, Teacher of Computing and English mcousins@bulmershe.wokinghams.sch.uk

Mr A Linnell, Teacher of Geography/ English Intervention and Support alinnell@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Extra-Curricular Activities

Key Stage 3 Support: Thursday Afternoon (Period 6) E1 – Miss N Webb

Key Stage 4 Support: Tuesday Afternoon (Period 6) E9 - Mrs A Dench

Poetry Society: Friday Afternoon (Period 6) E9 – Mrs A E Dench

Key Stage 3 Book Club: Friday Lunch-time E6 - Miss A Davies

Creative Writing Club: Thursday Lunch-time E6 - Miss K Lawless

Shadowing The Man Booker: Wednesday Lunch-time E9 - Mrs A Dench

Further Information

Subject information and course content can be found below. If you have any further queries, please contact the Faculty Leader, Mrs A E Dench agroves@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

PiXL Oracle IBM DofE Healthy-Schools-Col CBEBP World-Challenge Artsmark-Silver Institute of Physics Ofsted