Staff Students Gallery Alumni

Subjects: Science

Updated: Tue 17 Jul 2018   Share: Share on facebookShare on TwitterShare on MySpaceShare by Email

Here at the Bulmershe School the Science Department is large and dynamic. We put the students at the centre of all we do enabling them to take responsibility for their achievements. We offer a range of courses, from year 7 to A-level, to suit the needs of our students and our long experience in delivering these courses means that every student can be successful.

The Science Department is rightfully proud of the success of its students which has been sustained over many years with many students going on to study Science subjects at universities. 

Teaching Team

      Mr G Burrows, Faculty Leader, Chemistry teacher gburrows@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs L Nath, Second in Faculty, Head of Biology lnath@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Dr W Prowse, Head of KS4, Head of Chemistry wprowse@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mr P Sharland, Head of Physics psharland@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Miss J Bishop, Head of KS3, Teacher of Biology jbishop@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs E Clifford, Teacher of Science/ Chemistry (maternity leave) eclifford@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs J Gill, Teacher of Science/ Chemistry jgill@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs J Grier, Teacher of Science/ Physics jgrier@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mr S Latif, Teacher of Science/ Biology slatif@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs I O’ Higgins, Teacher of Science/ Physics iohiggins@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mr R Staton, Teacher of Biology, Deputy Headteacher rstaton@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Miss M Tarvin, Teacher of Science/ Biology mtarvin@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Dr L Thompson, Teacher of Science/ Physics lthompson@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Extra-Curricular Activities

The Science Department offer a full range of extra curricular activities.

Within School we hold a Science Club that meet regularly. We have taken students to visit local Primary schools where they are given a chance to share their enthusiasm and knowledge. Year 5 students from local primary schools in invited into school to participate in “taster” fishbowl sessions and stand alone Science sessions after school throughout the Year. Bulmershe school has a partnership with AWE mentors. Selected students in Key Stage 4 and 5 will be invited to work with AWE mentors throughout the academic year 2017-18.

KS4 students have had the opportunity to attend Science Live an event where they have the chance to listen to some of the country’s top scientists.  A level students have visited the University for a variety of enrichment activities related to their course together with the JET fusion reactor at Culham.

Our students have also attended a wide range of courses and competitions outside school.

Further Information

Subject information and course content can be found below. If you have any further queries please contact the Faculty Leader, Mr G Burrows gburrows@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

PiXL Oracle IBM DofE Healthy-Schools-Col CBEBP World-Challenge Artsmark-Silver Institute of Physics Ofsted