Staff Students Gallery Alumni

Subjects: Geography

Updated: Wed 18 Jul 2018   Share: Share on facebookShare on TwitterShare on MySpaceShare by Email

Geography at the Bulmershe School is up-to-date, relevant, and exciting. So many of the world's current issues are closely related to Geography and we reflect this across the curriculum. We aim to give all our students an enjoyable insight into a wide variety of topics such as: Global Warming, Natural Disasters, the future of Energy Resources, the impact of Blood Diamonds and Somali Pirates on people and places. We offer a challenging and interesting curriculum from Year 7, through to GCSE and A Level. Ultimately we hope the knowledge and transferable skills which Geography fosters will help prepare students for the complex world of employment and life.

All Geography teachers have high expectations of their students and we are very proud of the success and high standards our students achieve. The Geography Department is also keen to keep changing and improving with new teaching practices and curriculum updates, making it an exciting and dynamic place for young people to learn.

Teaching Team

Miss S Garrard, Faculty Leader sgarrard@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk  

Mrs A Woodfin awoodfin@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mr D Tomala dtomala@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Ms A Gray agray2@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mr Linnell alinnell@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Mrs Williams dwilliams@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

Extra-Curricular Activities

The Geography department run at least one field work experience in every key stage group. These are well attended and give the students the opportunity to develop both valuable geographical skills and transferable skills such as the ability to cooperate within a team.

Year 7: Rushall farm

Year 8: Marwell Zoo

Year 10: Rushall farm and Reading town centre

Year 12: Rushall farm and Newbury town centre

Year 13: Residential to Calshot activities centre

Further Information

Subject information and course content can be found below. If you have any queries, please contact the Faculty Laader, Miss S Garrard sgarrard@bulmershe.wokingham.sch.uk

PiXL Oracle IBM DofE Healthy-Schools-Col CBEBP World-Challenge Artsmark-Silver Institute of Physics Ofsted